What Shared Users Can Do

Last updated: August 20, 2026

Shared users can:

  • View and control thermostats

  • Adjust temperature, mode, and schedules

  • Use shortcuts

  • Participate in geofencing if they enable location on their own phone

Shared users cannot:

  • Add or remove thermostats

  • Invite other users

  • Change owner-only account settings

  • Set up, change, or delete geofencing for the Home

  • Receive Smart Alerts

With multiple geofencing users, Away runs when everyone has left and Home runs when anyone arrives. Each person must enable location on their own device.